2018 New York Film Critics Circle Award


Past winners of the Best Picture at the NYFCC include "Lady Bird", "La La Land", "Carol" and "Boyhood".

New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC) Announces Winners of 2018 Award live on Twitter This morning, IndieWire will update this page as each new award is handed out. Founded in 1935, the NYFCC is comprised of daily and weekly reviews, magazines and online publications. According to tradition, the organization is the first group of critics to announce its end-of-year winners.

Last year, the NYFCC rewarded many films that found themselves in major Oscar races. The group awarded the Best Film Award to "Lady Bird", while the winners Saoirse Ronan ("Lady Bird"), Willem Dafoe ("The Florida Project") and Timothée Chalamet ("Call me by your name") have all won an Oscar. names. Last year, NYFCC was honored with the award for "Best Supporting Actress", Tiffany Haddish, who stepped up her chances of not competing in the rewards race. Other winners included "Coco", "Get Out" and "Phantom Thread", all of which won Oscars.

This year's NYFCC vote follows the winners of the Gotham Awards and the National Board of Review. While the Gotham Awards are more independent (Chloe Zhao's The Rider won the Best Feature Award) and the NBR is more popular (the controversial book "Green Book" was named Best Film), the NYFCC often leans both ways and honors a larger, better movies of the year (see last year with "Get Out", "Mudbound" and "Lady Bird", for example). Previous winners of the NYFCC's Best Film Award include La La Land, Carol and Boyhood.

IndieWire film critic Eric Kohn chairs the NYFCC, while director Kate Erbland and chief critic David Ehrlich are both voting members. Check out the 2018 winners below when they are announced.

Winners of the 2018 New York Film Critics Award

Best picture:

Best director:

Best screenplay:

Best actress:

Best actor:

The best actress in a supporting role:

Best Supporting Actor:

Best cinematography:

Best non-fiction film: "Minding the Gap", director Bing Liu

Best foreign language film: "Cold War", director Pawel Pawlikowski

Best animation film:

Best first movie: "Eighth year", director Bo Burnham

Special prize for professional achievement: David Schwartz, chief curator of the movie at the Museum of the Moving Image for 33 years

Special price: Kino Classics Box Set "The Pioneers: First Filmmakers"

S & # 39; register: Stay on top of the latest news from film and television! Sign up for our electronic newsletters here.


Source link