2021 Sundance Film Festival Winners List


“Summer Of Soul” won the American Documentary Grand Jury and Audience Awards.

The largely virtual Sundance Film Festival 2021 is coming to an end. The festival will announce the award winners on Tuesday evening, swapping an in-person ceremony for a live broadcast and hosted by Patton Oswalt.

The biggest winner was Sian Heder’s drama “CODA”, which won four prizes in the US Drama Competition, including the Grand Jury Prize and the Audience Prize. The other big winners were “Summer Of Soul (… Or, When The Revolution Could Not Televised)”, which won the top two American documentary awards.

Blerta Basholli’s “Hive” won three prizes at the World Cinema Dramatic Competition: the Director’s and Audience Award and the Grand Jury Prize. “Writing With Fire” by Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh won two World Cinema Documentary awards.

A total of 72 feature films screened last week, as well as 50 shorts, four independent series and 14 New Frontier VR / new media projects.

These projects were judged by a jury composed of Zeynep Atakan, Raúl Castillo, Ashley Clark, Julie Dash, Tacita Dean, Cynthia Erivo, Isaac Julien, Inge de Leeuw, Kim Longinotto, Laura Mulleavy, Kate Mulleavy, Joshua Oppenheimer, Mohamed Ouma Saïd , Jean Tsien, Daniela Vega, Lana Wilson and Hanya Yanagihara.

Although this year marked the first virtual festival, the festival opened with a bang with a parade of buzzing titles that have received critical acclaim, including Sian Heder’s drama about a deaf family and their hearing daughter, ” CODA”; Animated documentary on refugees by Jonas Poher Rasmussen “Flee”; and Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson’s musical documentary “Summer of Soul (… Or, When the Revolution Could Not Televised)”.

Rebecca Hall’s racial drama “Passing”, Dash Shaw’s psychedelic animated tale “Cryptozoo” and Jamila Wignot’s documentary Alvin Ailey “Ailey” are other stars of the end of the festival.

The festival was also strong from a sales standpoint. Apple’s $ 25 million acquisition of “CODA” less than two days after its inception broke a sales record set last year. Neon covered “Flee” and “Ailey”, while Sony Pictures Classics made another prominent theatrical pickup with “Jockey”.

More sales activity is expected in the coming days as distributors remain engaged in bidding wars for several titles requiring distribution.

Below, check out the full list of winners.


Special Jury Prize for Comedy: Deanna Gibson, “Wiggle Room”

Special Jury Prize for Screenwriting: Serhat Karaaslan, “The Criminals”

Jury Award, Animation: “Souvenir Souvenir,” dir. Bastien Dubois

Jury Prize, non-fiction: “Don’t Go Tellin ‘Your Momma”, dir. Topaz Jones and elastic

Jury Prize, international fiction: “Bambirak”, dir. Zamarin Wahdat

Jury Prize, American fiction: “The touch of the master’s hand”, dir. Gregory Barnes

Grand Jury Prize: “Lizard”, dir. Akinola Davies Jr.


NEXT Audience Award presented by Adobe: “Ma Belle, Ma Beauté”, dir. Marion hill

NEXT Innovator Award presented by Adobe: “Cryptozoo”, dir. Dash Shaw

Documentary on world cinema

Special Jury Prize in Verite Filmmaking: “President”, dir. Camilla Nielsson

Special Jury Prize: Impact for Change: “Writing With Fire”, dir. Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Achievement Award: Hogir Hirori, “Sabaya”

Grand Jury Prize: “Flee”, dir. Jonas Poher Rasmussen

Audience Award: “Writing With Fire”, dir. Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Dramatic World Cinema

Special Jury Prize for the Theater: Jesmark Scicluna, “Luzzu”

Special Jury Prize for Creative Vision: “One for the Road”, dir. Baz Poonpiriya

Achievement Award: Blerta Basholli, “Hive”

Grand Jury Prize: “Hive”, dir. Blerta Basholli

Audience Award: “Hive”, dir. Blerta Basholli

American documentary

Audience Award: “Summer Of Soul (… Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”, dir. Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

Special Jury Prize for Emerging Filmmaker: “Cusp”, dir. Parker Hill and Isabel Bethencourt

Special jury prize for non-fiction experimentation: “All Light, Everywhere”, dir. Theo Anthony

Jonathan Oppenhein Editing Award: Kristina Motwani and Rebecca Adorno, “Homeroom”

Achievement Award: Natalia Almada, “Users”

Grand Jury Prize: “Summer Of Soul (… Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”, dir. Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

American drama

Audience Award: “CODA”, dir. Sian Heder

Special Jury Prize for Comedy: Clifton Collins Jr., “Jockey”

Special Jury Prize for the Best Ensemble: “CODA”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Ari Katcher and Ryan Welch, “On the Count of Three”

Achievement Award: Sian Heder, “CODA”

Grand Jury Prize: “CODA”, dir. Sian Heder

Sign: Stay up to date with the latest film and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletters here.

Source link