Adelaide Supercars: McLaughlin leads Whincup in first qualifying – Supercars


Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin held off Jamie Whincup by 0.05 seconds to secure the provisional pole for Saturday's leg of the Adelaide 500.

It was McLaughlin's DJR Team Penske Ford team-mate Fabian Coulthard that made a fast start to the session, becoming the first man in the 1m19s with a 1m19.787s on his first proper run.

It only lasted until McLaughlin banked his first flyer, the reigning champion going quickest with a 1m19.598s.

What to watch for as Supercars 2019 begins

That was all it took for McLaughlin. He was up with a couple of minutes to go, confident that the early lap would be enough.

The session decides who makes it into Saturday morning's top 10 shootout pole qualifying, and decides the grid from 11th back.

"For everyone at Ford Performance, all the Ford teams, it's been fantastic," said McLaughlin.

"The Shell V-Power is great for me and Fabian, everything feels pretty good.

"I need to tune up a couple of different areas, but looking forward to the shootout tomorrow.

"It was a bit of a go-back, but there's always something to try.

"We've got a set for the Shootout tomorrow anyway, so good."

Whincup did the lap in the session, running McLaughlin close right at the flag.

Coulthard was third quickest, followed by Nick Percat and the Tickford Mustangs of Cam Waters and Will Davison.

Shane van Gisbergen snuck into the shootout with the seventh quickest time, but it was a close-run thing.

The Red Bull driver was sitting 11th as he started his final lap, and got stuck behind Simona de Silvestro, who was on his own lap and no mood to move over.

Rick Kelly was the sole driver to make the shootout with the eighth-best time. Holden drivers David Reynolds and James Courtney round out those taking part in the single-lap dash on Saturday.

The unlucky man on the bubble was Tim Slade in 11th, while the biggest surprise was Chaz Mostert qualifying just 12th.

Anton De Pasquale will start from the grid, after firing his Erebus Holden into the wall Turn 8 right-hander on his first flying lap.

Friday qualifying

Pos Driver Team Because Time Gap
1 Scott McLaughlin DJR Penske Ford 1m19.5983s
2 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Holden 1m19.6483s 0.0500s
3 Fabian Coulthard DJR Penske Ford 1m19.6663s 0.0680s
4 Nick Percat Brad Jones Holden 1m19.6678s 0.0695s
5 Cameron Waters Tickford Ford 1m19.7432s 0.1449s
6 Will Davison 23Red Racing Ford 1m19.7618s 0.1635s
7 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Holden 1m19.8946s 0.2963s
8 Rick Kelly Kelly Nissan 1m19.9029s 0.3046s
9 David Reynolds Erebus Holden 1m20.0107s 0.4124s
10 James Courtney Walkinshaw Holden 1m20.0566s 0.4583s
11 Tim Slade Brad Jones Holden 1m20.0644s 0.4661s
12 Chaz Mostert Tickford Ford 1m20.0829s 0.4846s
13 Andre Heimgartner Kelly Nissan 1m20.1532s 0.5549s
14 Lee Holdsworth Tickford Ford 1m20.2092s 0.6109s
15 Scott Pye Walkinshaw Holden 1m20.2864s 0.6881s
16 Mark Winterbottom Schwerkolt Holden 1m20.3581s 0.7598s
17 Macauley Jones Blanchard / BJR Holden 1m20.3643s 0.7660s
18 Richie Stanaway GRM Holden 1m20.4014s 0.8031s
19 James Golding GRM Holden 1m20.4663s 0.8680s
20 Garry Jacobson Kelly Nissan 1m20.4927s 0.8944s
21 Todd Hazelwood Matt Stone Holden 1m20.6134s 1.0151s
22 Simona de Silvestro Kelly Nissan 1m20.7216s 1.1233s
23 Jack Le Brocq Tekno Holden 1m20.9141s 1.3158s
24 Anton De Pasquale Erebus Holden
Source link