Andre Iguodala replaces LeBron James as Senior Vice President of the NBA Players Association


Thearon W. Henderson-Getty Images

The NBA Players' Association announced that André Iguodala was the newly elected new union vice president, replacing LeBron James at the end of his term. Iguodala's four-year term takes effect immediately. Previously, he was vice-president of the executive committee of the NBAPA.

The union also announced the appointment of three new vice presidents: Malcolm Brogdon, Jaylen Brown and Bismack Biyombo. They took the place of Carmelo Anthony, Stephen Curry and Iguodala, whose three-year term has expired. Chris Paul remains president of NBAPA, having been re-elected last June.

James was unanimously elected first vice president of the NBAPA in February 2015. He was ranked before the six vice presidents of the NBAPA and was only replaced by Paul. This was James' first role on the NBAPA leadership group.

Previously, he had participated in discussions with the NBA during the 2011 lockout and had used his platform to shed light on social and League-related issues.

The NBAPA's mission is to "ensure that the rights of NBA players are protected and that every imaginable measure is taken to help players maximize their opportunities and achieve their goals, on and off the pitch."

Recall: Bright seats is the official dealer of New customers use "LAKERSNATION" (all CAPS) in the Vivid App Seats on your phone and get 10% off any Lakers home ticket order for the rest of the season.

Source link