Brooks Koepka has strong words for Ryder Cup rule-makers in Saturday’s foursome



[ad_1]

SHEBOYGAN, Wisconsin – Brooks Koepka made scathing remarks against two rules officials who did not grant him a freebie during a foursome match at the 43rd Ryder Cup at Whistling Straits on Saturday morning.

After Koepka’s teammate Daniel Berger hit his tee shot in the native grass on the 15th hole, Koepka called PGA rules official David Price, arguing his club would run into a drain when ‘he would swing.

Although Berger and Koepka lobbied for relief for several minutes, Price denied the request. Koepka then requested a second official, and after another brief discussion, European Tour rules official Mark Litton agreed with Price.

Four-time major champion Koepka pointed the finger at Price and Litton and said: “If I break my wrist, it’s for both of you guys.”

Koepka managed to hit the ball on the 15th green; it was not clear if his club had hit the drain. The United States putt two putts to equalize the hole. They ended up losing their game to Spaniards Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia 3-1 – the USA team’s only loss of the morning session.

When asked about the decision after the game, Koepka simply replied, “Yes, we didn’t get that.”

On September 4, Koepka injured his left wrist when his club struck a tree root during Round Three of the Tour Championship at East Lake. He was forced to withdraw from the tournament and has spent the last few weeks rehabilitating his wrist to prepare for the Ryder Cup.

At one point during his discussion with Price, Koepka said, “Don’t you think my club is going to hit over there? There was a root this far a few weeks ago.”

In 2010, Price was the PGA rules official who informed Dustin Johnson that he had ground his club in a bunker at the 18th hole at Whistling Straits in the final round of the PGA Championship. Johnson was given a 2-stroke penalty, which kept him out of the playoffs and cost him a chance to win his first major championship.

[ad_2]
Source link