Here are the nominations for the 2019 Nebula Award

The SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America) has announced the names of its nominees for the Nebula Awards 2018, one of the great honors of the field of science fiction and fantasy.

The Nebula Awards are an annual SFWA award, recognizing the best writings of novels, novels, science fiction, fantasy novels, movies, television, music, and stories for young people. adults. This year also marks the first year of good play writing. It includes a vast list of works, including the interactive slice of Black Mirror: Bandersnatch, God of the war, and Rent-a-Vice.

This year's list of nominees includes some familiar names and titles – the first novel by Mary Robinette Kowal's Lady Astronauts Calculation stars made the list as did R.F. Kuang The poppy war and Rebecca Roanhorse Lightning trail, which makes all our favorite reads from the 2018 list. The edgeS Better worlds project are also included: Kelly Robson (Gods, monsters and lucky fishing) and Justina Ireland (Dread Nation). Last year's winners included works by N.K. Jemisin, Martha Wells, Kelly Robson and Rebecca Roanhorse.

The winners will be announced on May 18 at this year's Nebula Conference, which will be held May 16-19 in Los Angeles, California.

Here is the complete list of nominees. (We put our reviews and our stories online together.)


  • Calculation stars by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
  • The poppy war by R. F. Kuang (Harper Voyager US, Harper Voyager UK)
  • Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller (Ecco, Orbit UK)
  • Rotating money by Naomi Novik (Del Rey, Macmillan)
  • Witch brand by C.L. Polk ( Publishing)
  • Lightning trail by Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga)


  • Fire ant by Jonathan P. Brazee (Semper Fi)
  • The drums of the black god by P. Djèlí Clark ( Publishing)
  • The tea master and the detective by Aliette de Bodard (Underground)
  • Alice Payne arrives by Kate Heartfield ( Editions)
  • Gods, monsters and lucky fishing by Kelly Robson ( editions)
  • Artificial state by Martha Wells ( Editions)


Short story

Writing game

  • Black Mirror: Bandersnatch by Charlie Brooker (House of Tomorrow and Netflix)
  • The Canterbury Road by Kate Heartfield (choice of games)
  • God of the war by Matt Sophos, Richard Zangrande Gaubert, Cory Barlog, Orion Walker and Adam Dolin (Santa Monica Studio / Sony / Interactive Entertainment)
  • Rent-A-Vice by Natalia Theodoridou (choice of games)
  • Martian work by Mr. Darusha Wehm (choice of games)

The Ray Bradbury Award for outstanding dramatic presentation

  • The right place: "Jeremy Bearimy", written by Megan Amram
  • Black Panther, written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole
  • A silent place, screenplay by John Krasinski, Bryan Woods and Scott Beck
  • Spider-Man: in the Spider-Verse, screenplay by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman
  • Dirty computer, written by Janelle Monáe and Chuck Lightning
  • sorry to disturb you, written by Boots Riley

The Andre Norton Award for a Fantastic Science Fiction Book or a Fantastic Book

  • Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi (Henry Holt, Macmillan)
  • Aru Shah and the end of time by Roshani Chokshi (Rick Riordan presents)
  • A light in the dark by A.K. DuBoff (BDL)
  • Tess from the road by Rachel Hartman (Random House)
  • Dread Nation by Justina Ireland (Balzer + Bray)
  • Peasprout Chen: future legend of the ray and the sword by Henry Lien (Henry Holt)

Source link