Instagram is one of those platforms, like Twitter, for which I have always considered that the content I published was visible to the masses. Yes, I know both have a "private" option for accounts, but I always thought it was interesting to interact with people outside of your circle.
And then I started using Instagram Stories. Although I do not see any problem with strangers commenting and watching my carefully selected Instagram images, my stories tend to be a bit more personal. This week, Instagram has rolled out a new feature that lets you keep this personal information while keeping your account (and the stories you choose) public.
How to use the "Your Activity" feature of Instagram to limit the use of your application
Earlier this year, I finally fell into the rabbit hole which is Instagram Stories, and now I pass …
Read more Lily
Called Close Friends, this feature allows you to choose whether an image is shared with the public or just with people on your list of close friends when you add it to a story. Nobody will know if it has been included or not in the list of "close friends". You can therefore select the person of your choice.
To use it, you must first (obviously) create a list of close friends.
To do this, tap the icon of your profile in the Instagram app, then on the burger icon in the upper right corner of the page. From there, select "Close Friends List" from the drop-down menu. You can manually add people by clicking the "add" button next to their name. You can also tap "Suggestions" to make things easier (Instagram will show people you interact with often on the platform).
Once you've created a list, you'll see a "Close Friends" icon when you create an Instagram story. Touch it and the story will be sent only to your close friends.
It should be noted that stories of "close friends" are designated by a green circle around them rather than by a red circle. So, even if you will not know that you are specifically on the list of "close friends" of a friend, you will know that a story you are looking at has been sent to close friends (so you will know if you are on someone's list quickly enough).
Also note: images shared in "Close Friends" stories can not be shared elsewhere. You do not have to worry that your cover is damaged by a close friend who shares your photo on their feed.