Nick Saban wins Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award

Alabama coach Nick Saban on Wednesday night was named the 2020 winner of the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award.

This is the second time that Saban has won the award, which has been awarded annually since 1986 by the American Heart Association. The first time was in 2003 when he led LSU to a national championship.

The other seven finalists were Dabo Swinney of Clemson, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Jimbo Fisher of Texas A&M, Jamey Chadwell of Coastal Carolina, Mario Cristobal of Oregon, Matt Campbell of Iowa State and Tom Allen of the Indiana.

Saban joined Gene Stallings in 1992 as Alabama coaches to win.

The award is one of many nationally named Coach of the Year, but the only one selected after the playoffs. Chadwell won the Associated Press Award, the Eddie Robinson Award and Walter Camp Coach of the Year.

Mike Rodak is an Alabama Beat reporter for Alabama Media Group. Follow him on Twitter @mikerodak.

Source link