Richmond NASCAR: Martin Truex Jr wins first win with Joe Gibbs – NASCAR

Martin Truex Jr dominated the final shots with Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer to finally win his first short track victory in the NASCAR Cup Series in Richmond.

The result was also a first victory for the 2017 champion, Truex, since joining Joe Gibbs Racing at the end of last season after the closure of the Furniture Row team with which he won the title.

Truex had not won a short track race in previous 80 attempts, but had led more short track laps than any other driver without a win.

Truex had to resist Bowyer during the 70 laps and, although Bowyer's Ford had much better results in circulation, Truex was able to stay in the lead while Bowyer fainted in the final laps of the race. .

The winner of the second stage, Logano, signed a late challenge for Bowyer and managed to get by with three laps to go. The Stewart-Haas rider overloaded his tires and grazed a wall in the last 15 laps.

Polesitter Kevin Harvick was fourth ahead of Denny Hamlin, the biggest finisher among those who started at the back of the field after failing the pre-race technical check. Austin Dillon posted his best result of the season in sixth position.

Brad Keselowski finished seventh despite a 31-400 lead. With his tight brakes, he was unable to keep pace with the race leaders in the final stage.

Keselowski was still able to restrain Kyle Busch. The points leader won the first leg and led 101 laps, but was hit with a speeding penalty in the pits during a caution period during the second leg.

It only took 80 laps to get back into the top 10, but despite a fast car, he could not make his way through the traffic to get his head back.

Ryan Newman finished ninth, with Paul Menard 10th. The Wood Brothers Racing rider had a solid race, placing in the top 10 for most of the night.

Jimmie Johnson, who will run the Boston Marathon on Monday, is ranked 12th, beating teammates Hendrick, William Byron and Erik Jones, who lost a starting spot on the front row because of his failure during the season. inspection before race.

Daniel Suarez, another victim of differences before the race, had a solid race, going from 33rd to 10th in just 90 laps. He was in the top 10 for most of the night, but a speeding penalty in phase 3 of the green flag pit stop cycle put an end to his hopes for success.

In addition to the end-of-stage warnings and the competition warning on lap 40 attributed to the rain at night, there were two yellows.

The first was caused by Kyle Larson who hit the Turn 1 wall at turn 128 after the fall of his left rear tire.

The second came when Michael McDowell had a similar shot in the same spot, though caused by the deflation of his right rear tire.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Towers gap
1 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 3h00m16.s
2 Joey Logano Penske Team Ford 400 0,178s
3 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 400 0.521s
4 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 400 0.932s
5 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 3.826s
6 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 400 8.144s
7 Brad Keselowski Penske Team Ford 400 10.985s
8 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 11.392s
9 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford 400 11.499s
ten Paul Ménard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 400 17.062s
11 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 400 21.373s
12 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 400 21.783s
13 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 400 22.312s
14 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 400 22.648s
15 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 400 23.231s
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 400 24.001s
17 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 399 1 turn
18 Daniel Suarez Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 399 1 turn
19 Daniel Hemric Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 399 1 turn
20 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 399 1 turn
21 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 398 2 tours
22 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 398 2 tours
23 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 398 2 tours
24 Matt DiBenedetto Leavine Family Racing Toyota 398 2 tours
25 Ryan Blaney Penske Team Ford 398 2 tours
26 Corey LaJoie Go FAS Racing Ford 396 4 tours
27 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 396 4 tours
28 David Ragan Motor sports ranked first Ford 396 4 tours
29 Matt Tifft Motor sports ranked first Ford 395 5 tours
30 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 394 6 tours
31 Jeb Burton Petty Ware Racing Chevrolet 392 8 rounds
32 Bayley Currey Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 392 8 rounds
33 Joey Gase MBM Motorsports Toyota 387 13 rounds
34 Quin Houff Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 386 14 tours
35 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 322 78 rounds
36 Michael McDowell Motor sports ranked first Ford 240 Accident
37 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 125 Accident

Driver ranking

Pos Driver Points
1 Kyle Busch 400
2 Joey Logano 380
3 Denny Hamlin 366
4 Kevin Harvick 349
5 Brad Keselowski 313
6 Martin Truex Jr. 311
7 Kurt Busch 287
8 Clint Bowyer 280
9 Ryan Blaney 277
ten Chase Elliott 267
11 Aric Almirola 260
12 Daniel Suarez 235
13 Jimmie Johnson 234
14 Austin Dillon 216
15 Ryan Newman 216
16 Paul Ménard 213
17 Erik Jones 212
18 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 208
19 Kyle Larson 204
20 William Byron 198
21 Alex Bowman 186
22 Ty Dillon 172
23 Chris Buescher 167
24 Matt DiBenedetto 142
25 Ryan Preece 126
26 Darrell Wallace Jr. 110
27 David Ragan 109
28 Daniel Hemric 97
29 Michael McDowell 94
30 Corey LaJoie 81
31 Matt Tifft 80
32 Landon Cassill 62
33 Jamie McMurray 19
34 Cody Ware 18
35 Quin Houff 15
36 Reed Sorenson 7
37 Casey Mears 1
38 Ross Chastain 0
39 Parker Kligerman 0
40 B.J. McLeod 0
41 Brendan Gaughan 0
42 Tyler Reddick 0
43 Bayley Currey 0
44 Jeb Burton 0
45 Garrett Smithley 0
46 D.J. Kennington 0
47 Joey Gase 0
48 Timmy Hill 0
49 Gray Gaulding 0
50 Ryan Truex 0

Source link