Savannah Guthrie, Anderson Cooper and Dr. Oz among the new guest hosts of “Jeopardy!”


A large number of new guest hosts have been announced for the long-running “Jeopardy!” Savannah Guthrie, Anderson Cooper, Dr Mehmet Oz and Dr Sanjay Gupta will join a growing list of celebrity hosts – including Katie Couric, Aaron Rodgers, Bill Whitaker and Mayim Bialik.

As part of each TV personality’s time on the show, money will be donated to a charity of their choice – amounts equal to the contestants’ total earnings in the weeks they appear.

“We look forward to each guest host bringing their unique abilities to the show and our nominees earning a lot of money that we can match for charity,” said executive producer Mike Richards.

After longtime host Alex Trebek deceased pancreatic cancer last November, rumors swirled about its potential replacement. Ken Jennings, winner of “Jeopardy! Greatest of All Time”, was ultimately selected as consulting producer and then announced as interim host. He made his “Jeopardy!” debuts January 11, and Richards is expected to follow him as host for a short time.

The dates of the celebrity guest appearances, as well as the names of charities, have yet to be confirmed. Among the new star-propelled lineup, only CNN’s Cooper has previously appeared on the show as a contender, in its Power Players tournaments.

A permanent host has not yet been announced.

Source link