Texas Tech and K-State share world championship title with 12 titles in regular season


No more waiting. For the first time since 1996, Texas Tech Basketball is again a conference champion.

With the 80-73 win of the Red Raiders at Iowa State, Texas Tech, number 8, won a share of the conference title with Kansas State. This is the first crown of the program since 1996, during the Southwest Conference.

Entering the Big 12 tournament, the Red Raiders are 26-5 in total and 14-4 in the Big 12. K-State, who beat Oklahoma on Saturday, tied for the title.

Texas Tech's historic season, which has just featured in an appearance in Elite Eight last year, coincides with the 12-game series of Kansas, Kansas, which ends with a record. The Jayhawks had won or shared 14 consecutive Big 12 titles, a series that dates back to 2004.

That year, Usher dominated the charts with "Yeah!" Peter Jackson The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King was the winner of the Academy Award for best film at 11-12.

The state of the race for basketball title Big 12

Texas Tech

Record: 26-5 in total, 14-4 Big 12

Lost in the whirlwind of a battle in Kansas or the state of Kansas is the fact that Texas Tech is also nearby. Now they are more than "right there" after dismantling Kansas 91-62 and continuing to win.

With Saturday's win at Iowa State, Texas Tech has extended its winning streak to nine games. The Red Raiders have not lost since February 2 in Kansas.

Against the hurricanes, Jarrett Culver scored 31 points in 12 out of 19 shots. Davide Moretti added 20 points, four or three points.

Kansas State

Record: 24-7 in total, 14-4 Big 12

K-State's defeat at KU on February 25 was more about the Jayhawks remaining alive in the race than damaging the Wildcats' title chances. Kansas's 64-49 victory meant the Wildcats had a little more pressure on themselves.

The good news? Since then, K-State has beaten Baylor and TCU to stay in first place – and Kansas lost to Oklahoma to end the winning streak. While the Wildcats defeated OU on Saturday, K-State won a shared title with the Red Raiders.


Source link